Malcolm Holcombe & Sam Milner - Trademark (Upstream Records, 1985)

Malcolm Holcombe & Sam Milner - Trademark
Upstream Records - UP-001
USA, 1985


A1 Chasing A Rainbow
A2 Sunrise
A3 Never Been A Fool
A4 Cities and Seasons
A5 Stepping Stones
B1 County Line
B2 You're On My Mind
B3 Crossties
B4 Blue Mexican Water
B5 Loved By You


beautiful country-tinged, folk-breeze! hooks for days with two distinct songwriters trading leading roles on every other track. pleasant pop sensibilities and sam and malcolm in total control here, crafting a soft, sensitive sound...such easy music to listen to, at times feeling like they are in the room with you. lonesome without being loner; there is a private quality to these stumbling onto your old journals and reveling in the awkward glory of those insecure days. remembering what it felt like to put on a van morrison album and just stare at the ceiling, dreaming up a life worth living...sadness tempered with nostalgia. for fans of townes van zandt, steve earle, james taylor, and emmylou harris. not a super hip sound to be sure, but timeless music that deserves to be heard...a classic slice of pure americana bliss.




Popular Posts